EDA122 / DIT061 Fault-Tolerant Computer Systems, 2008 (7,5 hp)

Course PM

Content

Last updated: 2009-09-21

Change history:

2009-09-21:  Topic of lecture 8 updated, time of lecture 8 and exercise 4 changed.

2009-09-15:  Info about lab times have been updated and corrected.

Teachers

Lecture and Exercises


Course description

The course gives an introduction to fault-tolerant and safety-critical computer systems. Fault-tolerance is used in a wide range of critical embedded, enterprise and server applications. The course covers four major areas: 1) Design  principles for centralized and distributed fault-tolerant computer systems, 2) Dependability analysis of fault-tolerant systems, 3) Assessment and validation of safety critical systems, and  4)  Standards and terminology. The design principles are illustrated through system examples from areas such as space, aviation, road vehicles, telecommunication and transaction processing.


Course literature

The course book is available at Cremona.  All other course literature will be made available on the course homepage.


Lecture plan (preliminary)

Lecture slides will, if possible, be posted on the course homepage no later than 24 hours before the lecture.
 
Lecture no. Course Week Date Time Room Content
1 1 Monday, Aug 31 13.15-15.00 EA Introduction: Basic principles, Redundancy, Voting, Terminology
2 1 Thursday, Sept 3 10.00-11.45 EA Design: Stand-by redundancy, Active redundancy
System examples: HP Non-stop Architecture,
Space Shuttle Computer.
3 1 Friday, Sept 4 13.15-15.00 EA Case study: Ariane 501 disaster. Software redundancy: design diversity, N-version programming, Recovery blocks.
4 2 Monday, Sept 7, 13.15-11.45 EA Reliability modeling: Basic concepts in probability theory, reliability block diagrams, fault trees.
5 2 Thursday, Sept 10, 10.00-11.45 EA Reliability analysis: Markov chains
6 3 Monday, Sept 14 13.15-11.45 EA Availability modeling: Markov chains, Birth-death processes
7 3 Thursday, Sept 17 10.00-11.45 EA Probabilistic safety modeling 
8 4 Monday, Sept 21 15.15-17.00 EA Generalized Stochastic Petri Net Models
9 4 Thursday, Sept 24 10.00-11.45 EA Guest lecture: FT in space applications, Torbjörn Hult, Saab Space
10 5 Monday, Sept 28 13.15-15.00 EA Safety assessment: Hazard and Risk Analysis, FMEA, FTA, Management: Life-cycle models
11 5 Thursday, Oct 1 10.00-11.45 EA Guest lecture: Functional safety, certification and standards, Jan Jacobson, SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden
12 5 Friday, Oct 2 13.15-15.00 EA Design: Error detection techniques, time redundancy, information redundancy
13 6 Monday, Oct 5 13.15-15.00 EA FT in distributed systems: consensus, failure mode assumptions, Byzantine failures.
14 6 Thursday, Oct 8 10.00-11.45 EA Time-triggered systems: TTA, Flexray.
15 6 Friday, Oct 9 13.15-15.00 EA Assessment: Fault injection
16 7 Monday, Oct 12 13.15-15.00 EA Guest lecture: Fault-tolerance in JAS-Gripen, Lars Holmlund, Saab Aerosystems
17 7 Thursday, Oct 15 10.00-11.45 EA Spare

 


Exercise plan (preliminary)

Exercise no. Course
W
eek
Date Time Room Content Problems
1 2 Monday,
Sept 7
15.15-17.00 EA Reliability modeling: Reliability block diagrams, fault trees. 2.2, 2.3, 2.6, 2.7
2 2 Friday, Sept 11 13.15-15.00 EA Reliability modeling: Markov chains 3.1, 3.2, Variant of 4.6
3 3 Monday, Sept 14  15.15-17.00 EA

Introduction to laboratory class 1

Lab-PM

 
4 3 Friday, Sept 18 13.15-15.00 EA Availability modeling. 3.12, 3.11, 4.2
5 4 Monday, Sept 21  13.15-15.00 EA Probabilistic safety analysis. 3.8, 3.9
6 4 Friday, Sept 25 13.15-15.00 EA Generalized Stochastic Petri Net Models

Introduction to laboratory class 2

Lab-PM
7 5 Monday, Sept 28 15.15-17.00 EA Advanced dependability modeling 4.9, 4.10, Exam problems.
8 6 Monday, Oct 5 15.15-17.00 EA System analysis To be determined
9 7 Monday, Oct 12 15.15-17.00 EA System synthesis To be determined
10 7 Friday, Oct 16 13.15-15.00 EA Exam problems To be determined


Laboratory classes


Examination

Written exam. Grades: failed, 3, 4, 5.

Participation in the laboratory classes and approved laboratory reports.

First exam: Wednesday, October 21, 2009, 14.00 - 18.00.

Second exam:  Monday, January 11, 2010, 14.00 - 18.00.

Third exam: Tuesday, August 17, 2010, 14.00 - 18.00.