My research focuses on web security, data and application security, language-based security, and location privacy. I lead a team of researchers, engaged in a number of EU and national projects and collaborations with industry including Google, Facebook, Microsoft, and SAP. My papers are published in venues that include conference flagships IEEE Security & Privacy and ACM CCS, and journal flagships IEEE TDSC and ACM TISSEC.

I am recipient of the Facebook Research and Academic Relations Program Gift (2016), Google Faculty Research Award (2016), ERC Starter/Consolidator (2012), Chalmers Research Supervisor of the year (2010), and SSF Future Research Leader (2008) awards.

New: PhD position on Security and Privacy of Location-Based Services

Location-based services/systems (LBS) see tremendous growth, with application from smartphones to autonomous vehicles and aircraft. This project is on rigorous techniques for security and privacy in LBS, including:

  • Security and privacy foundations of LBS: formal modeling and reasoning for LBS policies;

    Check out our paper on opacity, where we present a formal model of location privacy.

  • Application-, service-, and system-level mechanisms: enforcing security and privacy policies for LBS by such software-level techniques as information flow control (IFC), program analysis, and monitoring, and their integration with such hardware-level mechanisms as Isolated Execution Environments (IEE) and infrastructure for secure localization;

    Check out our paper on JSLINQ, where we use information-flow control to protect user location when using third-party JavaScript libraries in web applications for nearby points of interest.

  • Cryptographic techniques for LBS: designing and scaling decentralized approaches, such as those enabled by secure multi-party computation.

    Check out our paper on InnerCircle, where we design and implement a protocol for privacy-preserving location proximity.

Application deadline: June 15, 2017

Further information and application link: here.

PhD students
  • Daniel Hausknecht
  • Daniel Schoepe
  • Per Hallgren
  • Alexander Sjösten
  • Musard Balliu
  • Steven Van Acker
PhD students graduated
  • Luciano Bello
  • Willard Rafnsson
  • Arnar Birgisson
  • Jonas Magazinius
  • Aslan Askarov
  • Alejandro Russo